Casa Buonarroti is unique among the Florentine museums because it offers visitors not only the opportunity to view important works by the great artist, but also them to experience the bonds between Michelangelo, Florence, and the Buonarroti family. In fact, the family worked for centuries to expand and embellish the home and to conserve its valuable cultural legacy. Casa Buonarroti was built over houses Michelangelo had bought starting in 1508. Although the great sculptor only lived there occasionally, Casa Buonarroti – arrangement, decorations, etc., – was always foremost in his thoughts as borne out by the letters he wrote to his relatives in Florence. It is to his grandnephew, Michelangelo the Younger (1568-1647), that we are indebted for the creation of the five rooms on the piano nobile, the first core of the museum. Between 1635 and 1637, the artists Cecco Bravo, Matteo Rosselli, and Domenico Pugliani decorated the walls of this small room with portraits of illustrious Tuscans. These famous men are arranged by “category” and portrayed leaning on a monochrome balustrade against a background of an ideal seventeenth century Florence: on the wall facing the door are poets and writers, on the left wall scientists, on the right wall orators and humanists, and above the door philosophers and theologians.
This project will restore two of these walls as part of an overall project that has already been approved by the Soprintendenza Speciale per il Polo Museale della Città di Firenze and offers an important opportunity to study the techniques used to execute all the decorations in the rooms. The walls relative to this project include portraits of Leonardo Bruni, Galileo Galilei, Amerigo Vespucci and many other astronomers, mathematicians, physicists, physicians.
The entire room will remain open during the project to allow visitors a clear view of the restoration.